original Lizzie cover Center Point cover Center Point cover The Right Hand Rule cover Running On Empty cover The Tick Tock Man cover

The Secret at Haney Field: A Baseball Mystery

Baseball Mystery cover The Secret at Haney Field: A Baseball Mystery, a middle grade mystery from MB Publishing
released September 16th, 2014

Twelve-year-old April O'Day's summer has gotten off to a flying start. As the new bat retriever for the Harpoons, her hometown's minor league team, she's fetching bats and doling out great advice to players and coaches alike. In a word, she's becoming indispensable. But mysterious things are happening at Haney Field, which April and her best friend - and fellow baseball enthusiast - Darren Plummer are determined to uncover. As they quickly learn, this is no ordinary season. In fact, it's a whole new ball game.

Baseball Mystery cover



Read the first two chapters here: The Secret at Haney Field: A Baseball Mystery

View the PRESS RELEASE from MB Publishing

Visit the publisherís website: http://www.mbpublishing.com/
Visit the author's page at MB Publishing: https://mbpublishing.com/r-m-clark/

Purchasing Information

The Secret at Haney Field is available now from the following retailers:

Paperback eBooks Paperback copies also available from the author directly via PayPal:

Purchase Haney Field for $9.95 plus $3.99 Shipping & Handling

Reviews

". . . a well-written Disney-like story. . ."
"The characters are well-drawn and likable, and Clark obviously knows baseball. . . "
"A home run. . ."

--Kirkus reviews
read full review

"I would definitely recommend this to any child; itís a wonderfully sweet but interesting book and I know that it would definitely intrigue a child into reading more. I am an absolute sucker for a good mystery and this one is such a rioting maze of clues that will continue to interest a child and maybe one day they will become a book lover just like me. Wonderfully written, wonderfully devised and a really intriguing read!"
~  Lizzy Baldwin of mylittlebookblog
read full review

"A joy to read for all ages, I would highly recommend this book. April’s nature is so wonderful that even people who are not sports fans will enjoy reading this book."
~  Danielle DeVor of Danielle's review
read full review

"Not only is this a well-written, sport mystery, but the author manages to slip in a wonderful taste of history--and not one that most people are aware of. The reader is left with something to think about.
"I can only recommend this to sport lovers, mystery sleuths and children who simply enjoy a good story.."

~ Tonja Drecker via Goodreads
read full review

"I would recommend this book to any schooled aged child, boy or girl, who enjoy reading mysteries. I would also recommend this book to adults who enjoy the same thing."
~  Mary Brown via Net Galley
read full review

"... There are a few surprises along the way, and the ending leaves you feeling warm and happy inside. A must to be added to my classroom library!"
~  Barbara Corey, 3rd Grade Teacher
read full review

"... The mystery weaves American history around a baseball themed story to create an intriguing page turning case. Fans of The Prince of Fenway Park and Dan Gutman's Baseball Card Series will definitely want to read this book."
~  Pat Tierney, Get Kids to Read
read full review

"... Middle school readers ages 8-12 (especially those with an affection for both baseball and mysteries) will find The Secret at Haney Field an engrossing, involving read. Nothing is predictable, everything is tinged with baseball lore, and middle school readers will be more than drawn in by the combination of alluring storyline and protagonists who are realistic and compelling."
~  Diane Donovan, Senior eBook Reviewer, Midwest Book Review
read full review

"... The mystery at the heart of the book is nicely written and the two young sleuthsí journey to the solution is both exciting and moving. R.M. Clark has created an entertaining but also meaningful book which leaves you with a smile on your face. I really enjoyed reading it and would recommend it to all mystery fans."
~  Julia Hopkinson for Readersí Favorite
read full review

"... I love this book! It made me remember sitting glued to the TV set on sunny Saturday afternoons watching a game instead of being out playing..."
~  Jack Magnus for Readersí Favorite
read full review

"... As deeply moving as Field of Dreams, R.M. Clark has created a very memorable story that gives honor to those who played in the Negro league in that bygone age. The Secret at Haney Field captures your heart in a childlike way that recalls the simplicity of the game. The understanding of the game is portrayed in a twelve-year-old whose passion for it is beyond compare. As she and Darren peel back the different layers of the mystery, the reader is present in a very meaningful way. The intrigue, the game, the history and the righting of past wrongs are all felt on a deep level. Inspiring, intriguing and insightful, The Secret at Haney Field will place you in both eras of the game and deliver not only a wonderfully suspenseful mystery, but reveal a rich history as well."
~ Bil Howard for Readers' Favorite
read full review

Book lineBook lineBook lineBook lineBook lineBook lineBook lineBook line